Meagan Good, or Bad? Women, Glorifying God is a fulltime job.

This past week there has been a lot of talk about Meagan Good and her revealing dress worn to the 2013 BET Awards. She boldly professes to be a woman of God, and is now married to a man of megan-good-bet-awards-2013-dress-pretty-girls-rock-dresses2God, so this is a sudden shock to a lot of people. She has since addressed critics and is not convicted by what she wore. My opinion? I believe that different people are in different places in their walks with God. Everyone’s convictions are different at different times in their spiritual growth, and she sees nothing wrong with being exposed the way she was. Honestly, it’s no one’s place to go off on social networks, news programs, or in the media period. However, if you’re her true sister or brother in Christ, you should go to HER (Notice, I said HER, not the rest of the world) and based on God’s word, not your own personal opinion, hold her accountable if she is wrong. My favorite translation of Galatians 6 1-3 says: “Live creatively, friends. If someone falls into sin, forgivingly restore him, saving your critical comments for yourself. You might be needing forgiveness before the day’s out. Stoop down and reach out to those who are oppressed. Share their burdens, and so complete Christ’s law. If you think you are too good for that, you are badly deceived.”

My purpose in writing this is to hold myself and my other women of God accountable for how we present ourselves. Once you profess to the world that you’re a follower of Christ you’re being watched 24/7. I’m definitely not saying I’m a Perfect Patty when it comes to dressing modestly, trust me. I’m just starting to be convicted about certain things that I wear and post for the world to see, and I often ask my sisters & brothers in Christ if they think I’m doing too much before I proceed. It’s so important to have the right people around you in these situations. I love my body, I work hard for it, and many of you do too, but does that make it okay to show it off? When it risks not honoring God, the answer is no.

A friend of mine sent me an amazing article on “Making Wise Choices” by Reb Bradley where he goes through a number of questions to ask yourself before making significant decisions- even something as little as what to wear everyday is very significant, especially for us ladies.

“Does the choice draw attention to us? Is our motive to glorify God? Will He receive glory because of it?

1 Timothy 2:9-10 I also want women to dress modestly, with decency and propriety, not with braided hair or gold or pearls or expensive clothes, {10} but with good deeds, appropriate for women who profess to worship God.

1 Corinthians 10:31 So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”

So there it is. The bottom line is, we must pray and ask God to help us each and every day with the choices we make. Are we glorifying Him or ourselves? Ladies and gentleman, we will all stand before the judgment of God, and just because your weakness or short coming isn’t the same as someone else’s doesn’t make it okay for you to point the finger at them! We need to take responsibility for ourselves and that’s the number one problem with Christians today and why people hate us. YES, we’re a bunch of finger pointing hypocrites that need to place the mirror to our own faces instead of facing it away from us. Romans 14:10 says “Why do you pass judgment on your brother? Or you, why do you despise your brother? For we will all stand before the judgment seat of God.” Like I always say, if you have to think twice about it, you probably shouldn’t wear it.

by Charlay Jones

Posted on July 9, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jakiera White

    I completely agree! My Pastor spoke on this recently. Don’t criticize what you are not willing to help fix. Opinions are not asked for or needed. People were so shocked by her dress but have NO idea who God is. If they did, they would know he is merciful. He didn’t ask her to change who she is or her style. God’s unconditional love for her made her change her lifestyle to please him. Honestly I think she is proof that is it fabulous to be saved! I always liked Megan Good and once she rededicated her life to Christ I fell even more in love with her. Not many celebs can humble their lives to please God.

Leave a Reply

