Two are better than one.

blog2

Friends

© Bea Williams

Friends are far, friends are near,

Friends will be there to lend an ear,

They listen, laugh, and care,

But most of all, they’re always there,

Through thick and thin, up and down,

Your true friends are always around,

For treats, hugs and real big smiles,

They’ll travel to you from several miles,

They’ll always be there to hold you tight,

Anytime, no matter if it’s day or night,

You really know when your friends are sincere, 

When they always show up to lend their ear.

Source

Friends have always been a very important part of my life. I grew up as an only child to both of my parents and my cousins were usually older or younger than me, most of them were boys also. I lived in a neighborhood with few kids, so I spent most of my time in the house. And in all honestly it did not bother me, as an only child I found ways to entertain myself.

Even through elementary school, friendship weren’t something that I had. I went to the neighborhood elementary school for kindergarten and 1st grade. Then my parents thought it would be a great idea to send me to private school. It was actually a great decision. Second grade in private school was awesome. I met great people and loved all of my teachers and classes. However, just as soon as I started to enjoy it, I was taken out of that school and sent back to the neighborhood public school. Now coming back was not easy. Because of my proper speech I was teased and my style of dressing got me called “white.” I got into my first fight in elementary school, a girl teased and picked with me so much that I just snapped. As a child I learned how to continuously bottle things up and wait until I was at my boiling point to release them. Which later in life added to my issues with depression.

So when I got to middle school the friendships came easier and I became people dependent. I had a lot of close friendship that came out of the middle school years, that actually carried over into high school and even college. Yes I met more people on the way but my immediate circle was always very small. We went to family events together, we shared everything, we went out together. We were all intertwined in each others lives. These young ladies were like my sisters, we all claimed that blood couldn’t make us any closer. These were my girls for life, right?

Well as college came to a close for a lot of, and as life changes started to take place, it became harder and harder to get in contact with each other. Some of us had different activities and our interest separated us on many different levels. So the phone calls stopped coming as often, the text messages didn’t happen, the invites missed houses. We grew more and more distant. And for me personally it hurt. See most of my friends had other siblings and family members that were closer to them in age. I didn’t have the same perk, so once the friendships started to dwindle my depression crept back in. I didn’t know what to do, because I had put my friendships on such a high pedestal that I had no other option. I did not know how to function on my own anymore and this went on for months.  However, it was in those lonely moments that the Lord came to see about me. I realized that the void and loneliness that I was feeling could not be filled with another person or thing.

I truly gave my life to Christ on August 19, 2012 and that was when my life truly began. Those calls that weren’t coming didn’t bother me any longer, the text messages that I didn’t get weren’t even a thought. The invites that I received out of pity were now passed on with confidence. When I realized just how fulfilling God was those things no longer bothered me. And I honestly thought that it would be just me and God from that moment on. No friends, that’s cool with me. I have God and that’s all that I need. However the Word of God says the following:

Two are better than one,

Because they have a good reward for their labor.

For if they fall, one will lift up his companion.

But woe to him who is alone when he falls, 

For he has no one to help him up.

Again, if two lie down together, they will keep warm;

But how can one be warm alone? 

Though one may be overpowered by another,

two can withstand him.

And a threefold cord is not quickly broken. 

Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 NKJV

Image

And eventually, as I got more into serving I did come across some wonderful young women, focused on living lives that were God-honoring. They have kept me accountable and I have done the same for them. Ultimately we run to the throne before we run to the phone. However, we are here to help each other and keep each other in the race. I kind of think of them like the bumpers that they put up for the kids while bowling. You see I am the ball that God placed on this path, as I am rolling along, if I don’t have the bumpers (those God centered friends) I could just roll off into the gutter. The brothers and sisters that I have met are truly seeking God and not just with their statuses on social media. No sir, they live this stuff, all day every day. And that is important to have. They say that who you surround yourself with says a lot about you. I mean we spend so much time ministering to others and doing God’s work, that people forget that we go through things as well. And that is what your brothers and sisters in Christ are for.

For if they fall, one will lift up his companion. Ecclesiastes 4:10 NKJV

I don’t keep things bottled up anymore, I give them all to God and let Him minister to me. Then He will always present me with an opportunity to share this with my brothers and sisters. It could help them or just help me in getting it out. We all need to vent sometimes, but we need to vent to people that will give us advice that would be God approved. I now sincerely appreciate the times where God forced me to be alone and run to Him alone. That was something that I had to learn because I was so people dependent. And I now appreciate the family that He has given me to keep me uplifted and encouraged, focused on Him and bringing glory to His name.

And don’t get me wrong I still have some unsaved friends, but I have learned and they have adapted to my change in life. They are supportive in every way, yes I pray that they give their lives to Christ but I can’t force it on them. I just have to continue to be the light in their lives. I may be the only form of the Bible that some of them will ever read.

Get up, get out and serve the Lord with all that you have and I am sure that you will acquire of God-fearing friends that can help to keep you accountable. This life isn’t easy and we all need one another to help us through.

I love you all, but God loves you so much more.

Love

by Jessica Jenkins

Posted on July 15, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

