I Don’t Have Enough Faith To Give Up

 give up

WHY IS THIS HAPPENING? WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO NOW? HOW DO I GET PAST THIS? I CANT DO THIS, I GIVE UP!!!!!!!…… Wait; give up for what? Normally this question is posed to receive an explanation for the reasoning behind giving up. But today we’re going to look at this question in a different light. We’re not going to look at why we feel like giving up, but what we’re giving up on to what we’re giving in to. After wanting to abandon my calling, and wanting to give up on God and just walk away from everything godly because of my life circumstances. After long thought, weighing the good and the bad, I came to realize that I didn’t have enough faith to give up on God.

What does this mean? When I considered the options that I had to choose from to replace my faith in God, none of them made any rational sense. Firstly every other option would cause me to spend eternity in hell, but from just an Earthly perspective; nothing had the power to assure me it would change my situation. I remember the day I came to this conclusion. I was walking home from a job I was working 54 hours a week for 2 years and was still barely making it. I was (in my eyes) doing everything right, yet nothing good was happening for me.(that I could see)I was pissed at God and began to talk to Him about how I felt and let Him know I WAS DONE!! I will never forget this, I was on 19th and Washington and God spoke to me the clearest I’ve ever heard Him, and said “So you just gonna go to hell?” That caused me to repent of my foolishness. I got home and God lead me to the scripture that carried me through.

1Pet 5:9 “Whom resist stedfast in the faith, knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world”.

This verse was written to believers that were on the verge of giving up on there faith, and I was one of them. It was just so clear. Whether I believe in God or not, whether I live for God or not, whether I abandon my calling or not; giving up was not going to change my situation. Becoming and unbeliever would in no way help me. In fact, people that didn’t believe were going through the same things I was going through, yet with no hope. On the other hand; placing my faith in someone who has the power to change what I’m going through, could give me peace. This is when I learned through experience this popular scripture.

Isa 26:3 “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.”

Faith is having confidence that God will do something. Trust is staying committed to Him if He doesn’t.” Creflo Dollar

After reading this verse, I began to remember all the things that were prophesied over my life. I then began to focus on those things instead of my present situation. I would just meditate on everything God promised me, and envision myself in them. Then I would think about the things I was planning on giving up on God for, and none of them had a promise for my life.

As I looked at my life, (that still had not changed yet) looked towards God and looked at my other options. I did not have enough faith in any other thing in this world in order to give up on God for. From then on I put my complete trust in God. The peace that came over me from what I expected from God was unexplainable. Now, instead of looking at what’s in front of me, I look at what’s ahead of me. I trust that God is going to perform every word that He spoke over my life. Its no way anything else could give me this peace because nothing else can give me a guarantee. Nothing else can make a way, or put it on someone’s heart to bless me. Nothing else can open doors for my life and place the right people along my path. Nothing else can give me joy. I don’t even have a thought on giving up on God anymore. I have some days where I’m constantly crying out for God to move in my favor. But give up? NOOOO WAY. Give up for what? I don’t have faith in things that can come and go, that can change or fail. Jesus promised to be the same yesterday, today and forever more. He was a creator from the beginning so I know He can create in my life. Right now things are far from perfect for me, but I just don’t have enough faith to give up!!

If you are struggling right now with your life circumstances and are contemplating giving up. I challenge you to sit down and really think about what you’re giving up on God for. If the alternative to God has the capability of changing your life and save your soul; well go ahead and give up. But if those things can’t fix it, never promised to fix anything in your life and can’t guarantee you eternal life; then hold on baby. God is going to do something new in your life if you just believe.

David said it best. Psalm 27:13 “I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.”

Don’t faint, just believe. God is going to come through. I pray this has destroyed your faith in anything other than God and now you too, don’t have enough faith to give up.

By Minister Mitchell Chance

 

Posted on August 6, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Reading this gave me chills and it felt like I was walking in this very same path a few weeks ago and still some struggles today but I just continue to have faith and try not to give up. I enjoyed reading this..

  2. After reading this all I can say is “I Don’t Have Enough Faith To Give Up” over the years my life has been a rollercoaster full of ups and downs. I know and believe that GOD has a greater plan for me besides what I am doing which in my eyes is great. My way is the wrong way. This was great keep up the goodwork. I am enjoying your work.

Leave a Reply

