God is in Control

At the end of last summer, I was informed by management at my job that our entire site would be closing effective 11/1/13. We had a 60day notice to digest the news and close up shop. I didn’t know how to react. I absolutely Loved my job. I had received 5 promotions in 5 years. I was extremely comfortable. The thought of being in the uncomfortable situation of unemployment brought on many emotions. However when people asked “how are you feeling” I would say something to the likes of, I’m not worried, God has my back, he will open another door for me. I certainly believed this, but it definitely was hard at times to apply. I applied to well over 35 jobs and I started to become impatient waiting for companies to call me back for potential interviews. I’m the type of person who has to be in control….And at this point, I felt like I had no control. Where did God want me? How long was he going to make me wait? I started to receive call backs for interviews and various companies started reaching out to me. I became more upbeat and happy…. However I was getting opportunities and offers for positions I had no interest in. I always read my bible and prayed, but I began to feel like I wasn’t doing it enough, it had become “routine”, meaning I knew I needed to pray, so I prayed, and I knew as a saved woman that I needed to study my word, But it wasn’t enough. I was so caught up in my previous job, did overtime, all the time, I identified myself by my position, title & success at work. I read Psalms 13:1-2 “O Lord, how long will you forget me? Forever? How long will you look the other way?….” Then I reached verse 5, “But I trust in your unfailing love, I will rejoice because you have rescued me, 6 I will sing to the lord because he is good to me.” I realized, this had become an opportunity for me to deepen my relationship with God, praise him during my trials, go deeper with my prayers. I came across a quote in reading my daily devotionals that said “Don’t let your relationship with him be ordinary, but rather make it extraordinary”. I quickly found myself turning my burdens over to God, trusting in him, believing Matthew 7:7-8 “Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for…..” I finally let my desire to be in control decrease, and allowed myself to let God increase. I found myself in total surrender to him. I felt I was deepening my relationship with God, and growing stronger in my faith, which I had always wanted, but I allowed “Life” to consume me. By me being unemployed and having so much “free time”, God had me in a position to give him everything he deserves; praise, honor, reverence, glory. I was also starting to be more specific in my prayers as my prayer life was “deepening”. I was asking God for specific types of jobs, not just any old job, I also wanted financial increase so I could finally work on getting my debt paid off and lastly I wanted a job that would be closer to the homeless shelter I volunteer at so I could be more involved. I saw my priorities changing, for the better. Soon after, I started receiving E-mails and phone calls from employers that I was interested in. I was having multiple interviews a week! I am thankful to say that I landed a new job, with financial increase and it is located very close to my volunteer work. And it also needs to be said that the entire time I was unemployed, I never once had to go on unemployment! All of my bills were paid and kept current and all of my needs were met!!! I Thank God for removing me from being “content and comfortable” In my old situation. My God is a God who will never leave you or forsake you! Commit to God, Honor God and KEEP HIM FIRST!

By Shari-Daniell

Posted on January 7, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Praise God!! It is refreshing to read your testimony and hear how God moved in your life based on you staying faithful.

Leave a Reply

